SERVICE TO PEOPLE AWARD

Multiple Awards permitted per year

Awardees are to be selected for their service to the general public. The service for which an awardee is selected should have some connection with the planning, design, or construction of the people-serving works of the civil engineering profession spanning multiple years but with highlights in the award year. The following additional criteria will be considered:

- The recipient may or may not be an ASCE member;
- Although several awards may be given each year, only one award may be presented to any given person in a year;

Awardees will be submitted to National ASCE for recognition.

The name of the selected recipient must be sent to National Headquarters accompanied by information indicating why that particular person was selected for the award. Additionally, a plan and date for a presentation, including attendant plans for publicity, must be included in the request for the inscribed and signed certificate.

This award shall consist of an appropriate certificate with the following citation: "Awarded in recognition of service to people" (Name of person selected). "Presented in acknowledgment and appreciation of your outstanding service to advance the welfare of the people in our community. Awarded by the American Society of Civil Engineers." (Date)

To be signed by the National President, ASCE, and the President of the ASCE unit. The name of the recipient will be suitably inscribed on the certificate.

The inscribed certificate will be supplied by National ASCE Headquarters at no cost to the Section.

Past Awardees

1983 - Dr. Roger E. Carrier 1983 - John F. Graham, Jr. 1983 - Richard M. Costentino 1984 - Herbert C. Higginbotham, III 1985 - Paul J. McDermott 1986 - George W. Erny 1987 - Jerome N. Dettore 1988 - Joseph P. Moses 1989 - Alex G. Sciulli 1990 - David B. Richards 1991 - Lawrence Busack 1992 - William Adams 1993 - Peter Florian 1994 - Lewis W. Petulla 1994 - Colonel William C. Trefz 1995 - Richard A. Skrinjar 1996 - Werner C. Loehlein 1997 - Joseph W. Lengyel 1998 - No Award 1999 - Eugene W. Vaskov 2000 - David L. Wright 2001 - No Award 2002 - Fred Reginella 2003 - Karl Seig 2004 - James Roddey 2005 - Donald Berman; Jerry C. Swart 2006 - Cheryl Moon-Sirianni 2007 - David and Ruth Miller 2008 - William Gross 2009 - Mark J. Pavlick 2010 - Matthew M. Mehalik 2011 - Robert Stachel 2013 - Arletta Scott Williams 2014 - Chuck DiPietro 2015 - John Schombert 2016 - No Award 2017 - Karen Mueser 2018 - Sandie Egley 2019 - None awarded 2020 - None awarded 2021 - None awarded